We use cookies to improve your experience on this website. Read More Allow Cookies

Phonological Awareness Skills

Remove the confusion around phonological awareness and equip pupils with all the skills needed to conquer the world of words—spelling, reading and writing—with our must-have Phonological Awareness Skills series.

This series of five comprehensive books covers all the basics for young pupils (from four years of age) but is also useful for older pupils who are struggling with phonics and spelling. It develops skills that fit into any phonics or spelling programme.

This series is an excellent resource to help teachers address the ‘Phonological and phonemic awareness’ learning outcome of the new Language Curriculum, which for Stages 1 and 2 states that pupils should be able to ‘play with and recognise sounds such as syllables, rhyme, onset-rime and phonemes in spoken words’. This series emphasises the oral element in phonological awareness.

Twelve skills are presented in developmental order over the five books and include the following:

  • Book 1: Auditory Discrimination, Rhyming and Alliteration
  • Book 2: Segmentation and Syllabification, and Blending
  • Book 3: Phoneme Matching and Phoneme Isolation
  • Book 4: Phoneme Completion, and Phoneme Addition and Deletion
  • Book 5: Phoneme Segmentation, Phoneme Substitution and Phoneme Reversal

The last seven skills relate to phoneme manipulation.

The skills are developed through fun, hands-on games and activities for whole-class, small group and pair work, with full instructions (including the actual words to say, if required). The games and activities are perfect for learning stations and station teaching. They can also be used for early finishers to consolidate skills or to motivate young pupils needing extension. All game/activity resources, supporting worksheets if applicable, differentiation ideas, formative and summative assessments and answers are provided. Literature links and suggested websites for games are also included where applicable.

Each skill covered is also available to purchase individually as a digital unit in PDF format. 

Download a free sample


Resources in this series:

Buy the Series